My First Vegetable Garden

We did…..well…I did, what every body,

book, blog, article and website tells you not to do.

We went big.  A smart, caring and busy individual would be wise to start with a 4X10 plot, no bigger.  We doubled that, probably tripled it, and I’m sure we’ll pay the price.  Luckily, we are still in the honeymoon phase of vegetable gardening, where most things are growing, nothing has been attacked, the weeds are at bay and we’re dreaming of delicious, easy and fresh vegetables in the near future.  We are not dreaming of all the weeding that will need to take place, the bug patrolling, the rabbit visits, or the heartbreak.  I’m so naive it’s 9am on a Sunday morning and I haven’t even looked at the garden this weekend yet.  It could have been totally wiped out yesterday or today, but in my happy naive bubble, that just won’t happen to us.  It happens to everyone else in the books, blogs, website, and articles, but not us.  Like car accidents, deaths in the family and natural disasters.  You never think it will happen to you and you only partially prepare for it, if at all.  Luckily, we’re just talking about peas and bean here. 

Nonetheless, we have a 20X20 row garden and a 10X4 square foot garden and they are not all for us.  They are to test out some organic growing methods for our non profit Free Spirit Gardens and the produce will be shared with Free Spirit Tours staff, family and friends.  We are also growing all heirloom, organic varieties, so I think the yield per plant is going to be significantly lower than conventional hybrid plants, thus we’ve planted 12 tomato plants rather than 4.  hah.  With a shitty kitchen, a small fridge/freezer, no pantry or root cellar, this is going to be food overload.  Perfect, it’s what I’m hoping for.  Because, in all reality, there’s a chance that it will be slim pickings.  The season is late, and I was speaking to a very well seasoned farmer at the Flesherton Farmer’s Market yesterday who consoled me by saying that this season is a hard season for even experienced growers, nevermind beginners.  So if I get more food than I can handle, my self-proclaimed vegetable growing expertise will be validated.

2 responses to this post.

  1. […] My First Vegetable Garden (localgypsiespot.wordpress.com) […]

    Reply

  2. […] My First Vegetable Garden […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

