10 Days of Silence and Nothing

 

 

Yet another move is ahead of me, and this one I’m doing solo.  This move is free of trucks, boxes, tape, food, work, books and music.  Thank goodness.  It’s free of all of the stuff that clutters my life and distracts me from living life itself.  It’s free of complex thought and free of the senses.   That’s probably a dramatic enough introduction so I’ll now tell you that I am beginning a 10 day Vipassana Meditation course tomorrow at the Ontario Vipassana Centre.  Me and 49 others will spend 10 days in complete (noble) silence with the following schedule:

4:00 a.m Morning wake-up bell
4:30 a.m. – 6:30 a.m. Meditate in the hall or your own room
6:30 a.m. – 8:00 a.m. Breakfast break
8:00 a.m. – 9:00 a.m. GROUP MEDITATION IN THE HALL
9:00 a.m – 11:00 a.m. Meditate in the hall or your own room
11:00 a.m. – 12:00 noon Lunch break
12:00 noon – 1:00 p.m. Rest and interviews with the teacher
1:00 p.m. – 2:30 p.m. Meditate in the hall or your own room
2:30 p.m. – 3:30 p.m. GROUP MEDITATION IN THE HALL
3:30 p.m. – 5:00 p.m. Meditate in the hall or your own room
5:00 p.m. – 6:00 p.m. Tea break
6:00 p.m. – 7:00 p.m. GROUP MEDITATION IN THE HALL
7:00 p.m – 8:15 p.m. Teacher’s Discourse in the hall
8:15 p.m. – 9:00 p.m. GROUP MEDITATION IN THE HALL
9:00 p.m. – 9:30 p.m. Question time in the hall
9:30 p.m. Retire to your own room. Lights out

 

I have chosen to complete this course because I have some internal work that needs to be done.  It involves healing, letting go, feeling safe, becoming more mindful and focussed, detachment from things that I attach my identity to, and I’m sure more that I’ll discover over the next 10 days.  However, I am also aware that I may just spend the next 10 days sitting, waiting for the next meal and secretly singing in the shower. hah.  Who knows.

Here’s some more information if you’re curious:

http://www.torana.dhamma.org/index.html

 

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Kat on April 12, 2011 at 9:45 pm

    i will miss you.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Sabrina on April 14, 2011 at 1:12 am

    Hi Kim,
    I did Vipassana the month before I came to Bark Lake 2 years ago now. The same year you were there. I did this for I too had an overactive mind. May it bring you a little peace, it has for me! This year I met my name counterpart, and discover that this Sabrina also took the Vipassana course a year after I did it. I believe it is spreading and am pleased to hear it!

    Reply

  3. Hi Kimberley,
    I did that same course in Japan before I was married. It’s awewsome! Would love to know how it goes for you:-)
    Rebecca

    Reply

  4. Posted by Jennifer on May 17, 2011 at 2:08 am

    Hi Kim!

    I sat my first course earlier this winter and spent New Year’s Eve at the Ontario Vipassana Centre. I hope you had a very productive course! Good luck in your travels.

    All my best,
    Jenn

    Reply

Leave a Reply

