Week #2 in the Ashram…

These are my lessons from the second week of life in an Ashram in the Sivananda Teacher Training Course in Val Morin, Quebec:

  • The World Cup squeezed it’s way through the gates of the Ashram and instead of our 2-4pm lecture on the 4 Paths of Yoga, we ate popcorn and watched the final game!
  • The scary rustling and sniffing around my tent at night is a stray black cat……that has stirred up emotions in meditation of when our old black cat died on my 18th birthday….xoxo Blacky.
  • My ego pops up everywhere, awakened everyday by another ego.
  • I was scolded for tossing my cutlery ‘disrepectfully’ into the dirty dish bucket by one of our lecturers and I cried and cleaned the floors for an hour after that.
  • “Kriya” day was Thursday.  Kriyas are purifying/cleansing practices and thus:
  1. I poured water in one nostril and out the other (Neti Pot) = fairly easy.
  2. I threaded a catheter through my nostrils and out of my mouth to floss and release mucous from the nasal passage = much gagging, many attempts, many thoughts of giving up because I could feel the thing at the back of the throat but couldn’t reach it, more gagging, tears, snot……success in left nostril! (later in breathing exercises, I could breath so clear from my left nostril and I felt suffocated by my right…..almost makes me want to do this more…)
  3. I drank 8 cups of warm salt water quickly and proceeded to vomit it out (you’re supposed to, it brings mucous from the esophagus out) = not terrible, no acid comes up so it feels pretty normal and you can see all the mucous.
  4. The last was to swallow a long piece of wet gauze and then slowly pull it out = very few of us could even watch this, nevermind attempt it.

Very excitingly, this Sunday is the festival of Swami Sivananda’s death and there are going to be 25,000 people here at the Ashram!  It is a huge celebration that we are helping to coordinate, should be crazy.

Om Namah Shivaya

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Kat on July 16, 2010 at 2:04 pm

    Good god. you had a ridiculous week. these things are so odd. when you get back, you must floss your nasal passage for me. i must witness it.

    blacky died on your 18th birthday??? god. terrible. now i remember. twas the eve of your bday. you found out in the morning of your bday. happy bday kimmy! mom and dad killed our most favorite cat in the whole wide world last night! too bad you’re not legal to drown your sorrows in a bottle of booze yet!

    if you were at the shanty, i would run there tonight and stay all weekend. i miss you.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Kat on July 16, 2010 at 2:14 pm

    p.s. i love the colours and pictures you use for your blog. beautiful. hope dylan is doing well at the shanty!

    Reply

  3. Posted by Jackie on July 16, 2010 at 4:46 pm

    Hi Kim, thanks for sharing your experiences! I used to practice Sivananda yoga (many years ago) and absolutely loved it. I felt a lot of health benefits and have never liked any other form of yoga as much (ashram or hot yoga). I like the idea of going from 100% relaxation to 110% effort in asanas. I hope you are able to continue to share your experiences and grow with them. XOXO

    Reply

Leave a Reply

